How Being A Puerto Rican Writer, Waiter, and Entrepreneur Has Supercharged My Writing

Jonathan Sosa
8 min readMay 1, 2024

During my last semester studying Neuroscience in 2021 I had a hard time figuring out what to do after graduating. I knew medical school was next, but I felt like I wanted to do more.

I love the skin, so dermatology, and being gay plus loving advocacy also led me to go into infectious diseases since there’s a disgusting stigma that gay men all have HIV.

Still have that going for me, but something creative was missing. COVID was still sort of at its peak upon graduating with masks, so I had a lot of free time. I scrolled a lot on TikTok, started creating some videos, went viral here and there, and liked it. I slowed down on that platform, then started doing YouTube and I’ve fallen in love with long-form video.

Randomly my good friend V called me one day, and he said I should start writing on Medium and link it to my TikTok somehow. I did and was proud when I passed 100 followers on there.

I knew I liked to write but V sort of helped me realize that I had suppressed this super deep desire of mine for my whole life. In school, I always loved anything that had to do with writing, even if it was neuroscience-related.

I stopped writing on medium because I felt burned out and discouraged that I was only…

--

--